Portmeirion was created by Welsh architect Clough Williams-Ellis from 1925 to 1976. He wanted to show how a naturally beautiful site could be developed without spoiling it.
Today Portmeirion is one of Wales’ premier visitor attractions, welcoming over 200,000 visitors every year.
Visitors to Portmeirion can enjoy complimentary guided walking tours which are available from Easter to October only, with one of our friendly tour guides. A complimentary audio-visual show featuring Clough Williams-Ellis discussing how and why the village was built and a free land train ride of the Gwyllt woodlands.
Our Welcome Centre is open all year to help with any information, books or maps you might require.
It addition to its architectural heritage, its stunning setting and sub-tropical gardens, Portmeirion has two stylish hotels, a cluster of self-catering cottages, shops, a spa, cafes and restaurants and an authentic Italian style gelateria.
- Jobs fair 16th February
- St David’s day 1st March
- St David’s day weekend 2nd & 3rd March
- Wedding open day 2nd March
- 6th Trail 16th March
- Prisoner weekend convention 5th, 6th & 7th April
- Easter Sunday hunt 21st April
- The Portmeirion Food & Craft Fair 6th, 7th & 8th December